Lindsey Graham proudly votes against ‘gay marriage’ law and the internet tells him to shut up | Wbactive

Senator Lindsey Graham (Photo: YouTube)

The Respect for Marriage Act cleared a major hurdle last night as it passed its first Senate hearing. It passed 62-37 with 12 Republicans voting in favour. A GOP member who voted versus it was Lindsey Graham from South Carolina.

Graham took to Twitter to explain his reasons, saying the law does not provide adequate protection for religious freedom.

“I just voted against the Respect for Marriage Act, which aims to protect gay marriage without endangering religious freedom and religious institutions,” Graham said.

“Nothing in the law adds new safeguards for gay marriage, but I think it creates a lot of uncertainty about religious freedom and institutions that oppose gay marriage.

“The refusal to pass Senator Lee’s amendment, which clearly shields religious institutions from reprisals, says everything I need to know about the potential risks of the bill to religious freedom.”

Related: Lindsey Graham has outburst in Senate, warned to follow etiquette

Utah Senator Mike Lee said he would have supported the law had there been an amendment to protect tax exemptions for organizations opposed to same-sex marriage based on religious beliefs. The idea was discarded.

Why is Congress debating the Marriage Respect Act?

When the US Supreme Court legalized same-sex marriage nationwide in 2015, most people considered the matter settled. Since SCOTUS Roe v. Wade fell, but there are fears the judges could reconsider same-sex marriage.

That’s why the Biden administration codified same-sex and interracial marriage with the introduction of the Respect for Marriage Act.

President Biden was among the supporters of the bill yesterday. He said, “Love is love and Americans should have the right to marry the person they love.”

Online, Lindsey Graham’s tweet caused widespread eye rolls.

Chaz Bono was among those who weighed in on the debate.

Just like…er, JustForFans.

Related: There aren’t enough smelling salts in the world to save Lindsey Graham right now

Below are the Republicans who voted to move forward with the Respect for Marriage Act.

  • Roy Blunt (Missouri)
  • Richard Burr (North Carolina)
  • Shelley Capito (West Virginia)
  • Susan Collins (Maine)
  • Joni Ernst (Iowa)
  • Cynthia Lummis (Wyoming)
  • Lisa Murkowski (Alaska)
  • Rob Portman (Ohio)
  • Dan Sullivan (Alaska)
  • Mitt Romney (Utah)
  • Thomas Thillis (North Carolina)
  • Todd Young (Indiana)

The bill will now go through further Senate discussions and possibly a second vote to conclude the debate.

Leave a Comment